Wojciech Kozłowski

The Thirteenth-Century Inter-Lordly System.

Lordly Identity and the Origins of the Angevin-Piast Dynastic Alliance.

This book offers a pioneering answer to a puzzle shared by scores of medieval historians: how to make sense of the late medieval inter-lordly politics? Taking the Angevin-Piast dynastic marriage of 1320 as a case study, Kozłowski surveys international politics in Latin Christendom across the 13th century in a powerful attempt to develop and substantiate an alternative approach to medieval politics. Drawing on IR theoretical discourses and exploring essential elements of medieval political culture, the book introduces a concept of “lordly identity” as an analytical tool for determining lords’ political motivations, and discusses the basic structure of a system, wherein inter-lordly relations occurred.

Preview

First Edition, Hardcover, ca. 450 pages.

Language: English
ISBN: 978-3-943025-61-3
70.00 €

Available from October 2020. Preorders will be shipped as soon as possible. Please note that shipping fees apply.

Keywords

Anjou / Piasts / Poland / 14th century / International Relations / Hungary / Motivation / Nobility / Herscherhäuser / Władysław Łokietek / Political History / Bohemia / Europe / Political Science / transnational study / Charles I of Hungary

Melden Sie Anfragen bitte einfach über unser Kontaktformular.

Wojciech Kozłowski is the director of the Pilecki Institute, a research institution based in Warsaw, and the chief editor of its scholarly journal Totalitarian and 20th Century Studies. He holds Ph.D. in medieval studies from Central European University and M.A. in history from the University of Warsaw. He was a fellow at the New Europe College and a visiting scholar at the Department of History at Harvard.

Order


Add Titles


Invoice Address


Add different shipping address

Shipping Address


* Mandatory Field

Wojciech Kozłowski

The Thirteenth-Century Inter-Lordly System.

Lordly Identity and the Origins of the Angevin-Piast Dynastic Alliance.

Dieses Buch bietet eine fundamentale Analyse spätmittelalterlicher Politik innerhalb des Hochadels bzw. einzelner Herrscherhäuser. Ausgehend von der dynastischen Ehe zwischen Karl I. von Anjou und Elisabeth, Tochter des polnischen Königs Władysław I. Ellenlang aus dem Haus der Piasten im Jahr 1320, untersucht Kozłowski die internationale Politik in der lateinischen Christenheit während des 13. Jahrhunderts. Das Buch stützt sich auf theoretische Diskurse der Forschungen zu internationalen Beziehungen und untersucht wesentliche Elemente der mittelalterlichen politischen Kultur. Kozlowski entwickelt hier das Konzept der „fürstlichen Identität“ als analytisches Instrument zur Bestimmung der politischen Motivationen von Herrschern ein und erörtert darauf aufbauend die Grundstruktur eines Systems, in dem Herrscher, und im weiteren Sinne Fürsten, Beziehungen untereinander unterhielten.

Solivagus-Verlag

1. Auflage, Hardcover, ca. 450 Seiten.

Sprache: Englisch
ISBN: 978-3-943025-61-3
70,00 €

Lieferbar in 2 bis 4 Werktagen.
Die Lieferung innerhalb Deutschlands erfolgt kostenfrei.
Bei Lieferungen innerhalb der EU erheben wir eine Versandkostenpauschale.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren AGB.

Schlagworte

Anjou / Piasten / Polen / 14. Jahrhundert / Internationale Beziehungen / Ungarn / Motivation / Adel / Herscherhäuser / Władysław Łokietek / Politikgeschichte / Böhmen / Europa / Politikwissenschaft / transnationale Studie / Karl I. von Ungarn

Melden Sie Anfragen bitte einfach über unser Kontaktformular.

Wojciech Kozłowski ist Direktor des Pilecki-Instituts, einer Forschungseinrichtung mit Sitz in Warschau, und Chefredakteur der wissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift „Totalitarian and 20th Century Studies“. Er hat einen Doktortitel in Mediävistik von der Central European University und einen M.A. in Geschichte von der Universität Warschau. Er war Fellow am New Europe College und Gastwissenschaftler am Fachbereich Geschichte in Harvard.

Bestellen



Mehr Titel auswählen


Rechnungsadresse


Abweichende Lieferadresse hinzufügen

Lieferadresse


* Pflichtfeld