Thomas Riis

Kreuz und quer durch Europa. Von Krieg, Politik, Kultur und Religion.

Das Tagebuch des habsburgerischen Diplomaten und Landsknechtführers Erich Lassota von Steblau (1573 - 1594)

The Austrian diplomat Erich Lassota von Steblau (died 1616) left a comprehensive manuscript in the form of a diary. His notes describe his educational journey to Italy 1573-1576, his participation in the Spanish conquest of Portugal as a recruited officer 1579-1584 and three diplomatic missions under the direction of the Habsburgs. The first took him to Poland (1585-1589), the second to Russia and Swedish captivity (1590-1593) and the last to the Zaporozoic Cossacks in the Ukraine (1594).
Lasota’s diary contains descriptions of his travels, situations and surroundings, which provide important insights into the reality of a diplomat, mercenary and spy at the time for cultural and historical research.
The version of the diary published by Reinhold Schottin as early as 1866 was compared with the original manuscript for the present edition and corrected in places. Furthermore, a text-critical apparatus and comprehensive commentaries have been added to the new edition.

Preview

First Edition, Hardcover, ca. 500 pages.

Language: German
ISBN: 978-3-943025-60-6
74.00 €

Available by December 2020. Preorders will be processed as soon as the title arrives.

Delivery within Germany is free of charge.

For deliveries within the EU we charge a flat rate for shipping.

Keywords

Emperor Rudolf II / Archduke Maximilian of Austria / Philip II of Spain / Portugal / Poland / Hungary / Ukraine / Sweden / Russia / Silesian nobility / War diary / Diplomat / Mercenary / Spy / Report / 16th century / Habsburg / Zaporoger Cossacks

Please contact us with any queries via the contact form.

Thomas Riis was born in Copenhagen in 1941 and completed his studies of history there in 1977 with a habilitation. From 1977 to 1980 he taught at the European University Institute in Florence, from 1981 to 1984 as a Carlsberg Research Fellow at the University of St. Andrews and from 1994 to 2008 as Professor of the History of Schleswig-Holstein at the Christian-Albrechts-Universität in Kiel. Riis was also co-editor of the Diplomatarium Danicum from 1985 to 1993. His research focuses on economic and social history, urban history and the history of poverty.

Order



Add Titles


Invoice Address


Add different shipping address

Shipping Address


* Mandatory Field

Thomas Riis

Kreuz und quer durch Europa. Von Krieg, Politik, Kultur und Religion.

Das Tagebuch des habsburgerischen Diplomaten und Landsknechtführers Erich Lassota von Steblau (1573 - 1594)

Der österreichische Diplomat Erich Lassota von Steblau (gestorben 1616) hat ein umfassendes Manuskript in der Form eines Tagebuchs hinterlassen. Seine Aufzeichnungen beschreiben seine Ausbildungsreise nach Italien 1573–1576, seine Teilnahme an der spanischen Eroberung Portugals als geworbener Offizier 1579–1584 und drei diplomatische Missionen unter Weisung der Habsburger. Die erste führt ihn nach Polen (1585–1589), die zweite nach Russland und in schwedische Gefangenschaft (1590–1593) und die letzte zu den Zaporoger Kosaken in die Ukraine (1594).
Lassotas Tagebuch enthält Reise-, Situations- und Umgebungsbeschreibungen, die für die kulturgeschichtlichen wie historischen Forschungen wichtige Einblicke in die damalige Realität eines Diplomaten, Söldners und Spions gewähren.
Die schon 1866 von Reinhold Schottin publizierte Fassung des Tagebuchs wurde für die vorliegende Edition mit dem Originalmanuskript verglichen und stellenweise korrigiert. Ferner wurden der Neuedition ein textkritischer Apparat sowie umfassende Kommentare hinzugefügt.

Preview

1. Auflage, Hardcover, Fadenbindung, ca. 500 Seiten.

Sprache: Deutsch
ISBN: 978-3-943025-60-6
74,00 €

Voraussichtlich lieferbar ab November 2020. Vorbestellungen werden bei Erscheinen bearbeitet.

Die Lieferung innerhalb Deutschlands erfolgt kostenfrei.
Bei Lieferungen innerhalb der EU erheben wir eine Versandkostenpauschale.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren AGB.

Schlagworte

Kaiser Rudolf II. / Erzherzog Maximilian von Österreich / Philipp II. von Spanien / Portugal / Polen / Ungarn / Ukraine / Schweden / Russland / Schlesischer Adel / Kriegstagebuch / Diplomat / Söldner / Spion / Eigenbericht / 16. Jahrhundert / Habsburger / Zaporoger Kosaken

Melden Sie Anfragen bitte einfach über unser Kontaktformular.

Thomas Riis wurde 1941 in Kopenhagen geboren und schloss dort sein Geschichtsstudium 1977 mit einer Habilitation ab. Er lehrte 1977 bis 1980 am Europäischen Hochschulinstitut in Florenz, 1981 bis 1984 als Carlsberg Research Fellow an der University of St. Andrews und 1994 bis 2008 als Professor der Geschichte Schleswig-Holsteins an der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel. Riis war zudem von 1985 bis 1993 Mitherausgeber des Diplomatarium Danicum. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören die Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte, die Stadtgeschichte sowie die Geschichte der Armut.

Bestellen



Mehr Titel auswählen


Rechnungsadresse


Abweichende Lieferadresse hinzufügen

Lieferadresse


* Pflichtfeld