Solivagus Verlag

The Solivagus publishing house focuses on medieval studies and was founded in 2008 by Dr. Stefan Eick in Kiel (Northern Germany). It is specialized on the whole range of Medieval and Early Modern history with emphases on the regional history of Northern Germany, Latin Source Editions, Legal History, Christian Religious History, Easter European and Jewish History, as well as German Philology.
 
The Solivagus publishing house has a cooperation with the Department of Medieval Studies at the Central European University in Budapest. The recently founded imprint Solivagus Praeteritum focuses on the cultural history of the „long“ 19th century. A second area of specialization, directed more towards the general public, is the publication of profoundly researched and richly illustrated chronicles and historical studies of Northern German parishes and towns.
 
We at Solivagus are proud to be a publishing house in the traditional sense of the word. We attach great importance to intensive copy-editing, professional typesetting and coverdesign, and high-quality, in some cases even bibliophile print of our books. Another strength is the editorial work on complex book projects.

Solivagus Verlag

Der Solivagus-Verlag ist ein mediävistischer Fachverlag, der 2008 von Dr. Stefan Eick in Kiel gegründet wurde. Er spezialisierte sich zunächst auf die ganze Bandbreite der Mediävistik und der Forschung zur Frühen Neuzeit mit ersten Schwerpunkten auf norddeutsche Regionalgeschichte, lateinische Quelleneditionen, Rechtsgeschichte, christliche Religionsgeschichte, osteuropäische und jüdische Geschichte sowie Germanistik.
 
Seit einigen Jahren hat der Solivagus-Verlag eine Kooperation mit dem Department of Medieval Studies der Central European University in Budapest. Im noch jungen Imprint Solivagus Praeteritum erscheinen Studien zur Kulturgeschichte des „langen“ 19. Jahrhunderts. Einen zweiten Fokus, der sich stärker an eine breite Öffentlichkeit richtet, hat der Solivagus-Verlag im Bereich hochwertiger, wissenschaftlich fundierter und reich bebilderter Ortschroniken und Ortsgeschichten.
 
Der Solivagus-Verlag versteht sich als Verlag im herkömmlichen Sinn des Wortes, legt großen Wert auf ein intensives Lektorat, professionellen Buchsatz und Covergestaltung durch einen Grafiker und hochwertigen, oftmals bibliophilen Druck der Bücher. Eine weitere Stärke des Verlags liegt in der Redaktion aufwändiger und komplexer Buchprojekte.